100-Word Challenge, Day 008


Time slowed as we huddled in the dark.  Julia talked tough and acted the part, but she was new enough to the street to still feel the fear.  I had surrendered my fear years ago.  I had been down low so long that anything more than survival was a shadow of a dream glimpsed in brief, but forgotten as soon as reality crashed back around me.  I didn’t have much hope of succeeding tonight, but I had to try.  If nothing else I wanted to find a way to get her out of this sewer, give her a real life.

Leave a Reply

