100-Word Challenge, Day 010


The twenty minutes it took to get to my apartment dragged on for an eternity.  The hooker, Charlene was her name I think, even looked back at us, but I kept my eyes on her just the same.  I hoped that she didn’t even notice us, but I knew she had been on the street too long not to have.  In the movies street people claim to see nothing, but the reality is that they notice everything.  Survival depended on not getting caught unaware, so you learned to take note of every little detail, no matter how insignificant they seemed.

Leave a Reply

