100-Word Challenge, Day 014


I turned the corner into another alley and heard two gunshots behind us.  They were muffled, coming from inside, probably from my apartment.  Whoever had gone to find me hadn’t been to my room before or they wouldn’t have shot the full length mirror that hung on the wall opposite of my door.  More than one visitor had been startled by seeing themselves upon entering, so it didn’t surprise me that some thug would squeeze off a couple rounds after breaking down my door. It wouldn’t take long to figure out I wasn’t there and they’d start asking my neighbors.

Leave a Reply

