100-Word Challenge, Day 100


“Look Jules, I used an old fashioned remedy, something I had picked up years ago from an old friend.  He always swore it worked but I had never seen it done before.  I gave you some while you were sleeping.  You were tossing and moaning and I knew you’d wake up jonesing so I gave it a try.”  The lie came quick and easy, a skill that life with the dregs cultivated, but the lies made my head throb with guilt.  “I should have asked first, I’m sorry.”  I looked at her, watching the lie filter through her mind as the human tendency to fear the unnatural convinced her that my story was plausible.

Leave a Reply

