100-Word Challenge, Day 117


Julia sat next to the window and looked out at the rows of track houses, “you know I used to live in a neighborhood like that.  All neat and orderly, each house a variation on the same theme.  God I hated it.  It felt like a prison.  I was different, or at least I wanted to be different.  I didn’t want to fit the same precious little mold of my parents and I knew I had to get away from all of that conformity if I was going to be anything special.”  She looked at me for the briefest of moments before looking back outside, the houses rolling past as the bus began to move. “Now I would give anything to have it back.”

2 thoughts on “100-Word Challenge, Day 117

Leave a Reply

