100-Word Challenge, Day 124


I reached out while catching my breath, trying to find something or someone I could use to help us get away.  I knew Hector by reputation only, but that reputation was bad.  Opening myself up to the emotions of a bus full of terrified passengers was risky, but I couldn’t think of anything else to try that wouldn’t end in my rather immediate death. Most of the people reeked of animal fear, some with regret and other still with shame, but towards the front of the bus was a man twitching with need and anger.  I gave his emotions a little push as I took Julia’s hand.

Leave a Reply

