100-Word Challenge, Day 138


Chapter Eight

 

I wake up in darkness.  The room is quiet except for the hum of a swamp cooler wedged into the room’s only window.  Little streams of light peaked out around the edges of the pull down blinds and as my eyes adjusted I saw a small desk with a chair, a couple of overloaded bookshelves and a coat rack. I sit up, my shoulder aching, but not enough to keep me down.  Swinging my legs off the edge of the ancient cot I’m on is a struggle.  I haven’t felt this weak since the day of my fall. I head for the door, anxious to find Julia, afraid of where I may have ended up.

One thought on “100-Word Challenge, Day 138

  1. Pingback: What is the best air conditioning unit that uses the least amount of power? | Daytona Beach Air Conditioning

Leave a Reply

