100-Word Challenge, Day 145


“Pardon me.  I did not wish to interrupt you.”  A tall, handsome man stood in the doorway.  He was clean and modestly dressed; a human mirror of the church I stood in.

“You didn’t Father.  Thank you for waiting.  Prayer does not come easy for me.” I stepped away from the alter and walked to the priest, “you have a lovely church.  It moved me to try.”

“It is a shame that it takes a church to make you speak to the Almighty, but I am glad it has done so just the same.”  He offered his hand to me, “I am Father Gabriel.”

Leave a Reply

