100-Word Challenge, Day 146


“It is nice to meet you Father.  You have a lovely church here,” I said.

“Thank you.  It has been my home ever since I left seminary.  I am quite attached to it.”  He smiles as he speaks, a large genuine thing of beauty that made me smile with him.  “I suppose you are wondering where your friend ran off to.”

“I was wondering actually.”

 “She is fine.  I placed a cot in the church cellar and let her rest once we had you patched up.  You were in pretty bad shape, but you seem to have recovered very well.”  He looks me over once before continuing, “Honestly I thought we would have to send for an ambulance, but your friend insisted that I not do so.  She can be very convincing.”

Leave a Reply

