100-Word Challenge, Day 147


“Yes she can.”  Julia was hard headed and obstinate whether high or clean. “Thank you for taking care of her.” I look down at my shoulder, “Us I mean.”

“You are welcome, though I do wonder why she brought you here instead of the hospital,” he asks.

“It is complicated I am afraid, but the easy answer is to say that some very bad men are looking for us, and the hospitals are most likely being watched.  The second is that I have always found comfort in churches.” I did not share that being inside one assisted in my healing.

Leave a Reply

