100-Word Challenge, Day 153


“Father, do you think she could hide here a little longer?” I asked knowing there were risks for both Julia and for the priest, but it may end up less of a risk than if I took her back into the open with me.

“Of course, but didn’t you say someone would come looking for both of you?” he asked.

“Yes, but if they come looking after I’ve gone you can tell them that we were here, but left after staying the night.”  I paused and thought for a moment before continuing, “You can tell them we’re heading into downtown,” which was the truth, though I didn’t tell him that.

Leave a Reply

