100-Word Challenge, Day 207


“I had an apartment in Abavvon,” I said. I couldn’t go back there  now. Even if I sorted out all of this mess and Albert no longer wanted me dead, there would be nothing left intact after his people went through it.

“Had?”

“Yeah, I lost it a couple days ago.” Not a lie exactly.

“So you’re homeless?” The man scratches down a couple notes in his notebook and stares at me, waiting for the answer.

“I hadn’t really thought about it, but yes, I suppose I am.” I really hadn’t thought about it until now, and it honestly made me a little sad to think I no longer had a place to call home. Again.

Leave a Reply

