100-Word Challenge, Day 211


“Excellent.” He scribbles on his pad before looking back at me. “So how do you know Albert?”

His directness surprises me a little. “I have a friend who provides certain…services, for Albert, so I run into him often. He probably wouldn’t recognize me if he saw me.” A wave of nausea hit me and I have to strain to not vomit all over the table. The lie is a big one and my increased use of the power makes the lie a physical force I cannot ignore. I break out in a sweat and I can see my interrogator taking note of it. He thinks I’m lying.

Leave a Reply

