100-Word Challenge, Day 230


I hear the click of the door just before the door opens. I stand still, my back pressed against the stairwell wall, hoping that whoever is up there won’t hear me and will decide that only an idiot would head for the basement.

The waiting is brutal and short. Apparently when two armed gunmen enter a stairwell they’ll decide to check both directions, just to be safe. No sense trying to be quiet now, I take the stairs three or four at a time, trying to buy as much distance as I can while looking for a way out of this deathtrap of a building.

Leave a Reply

