100-Word Challenge, Day 234


Once I’m inside the tunnel the section of wall rematerializes and we are plunges into complete darkness. I hear my rescuer breathing, a heavy, wet, rasping sound, so I know I’m not alone, but he says nothing. “Thank you,” I venture.

“You’re welcome,” says the same voice from before. “Crawl after me. The tunnel curves after a bit, then you’ll get some light to see by, but be silent lest we are heard.”

I nod, realizing how ridiculous that is, and follow after him once I hear him move off. I can’t help but wonder if I’ve left the skillet for the serving plate.

Leave a Reply

