100-Word Challenge, Day 259


An elf unfettered by the filth and melancholy that the others had been smothered with stands in the doorway. She is a ray of sunlight formed into a beautiful female form. The brilliance that emanates from her is a physical thing and it drops me to my knees. When she speaks it is like the chiming of sacred bells.

“Julius,” she says, “who have you brought before me? He is too tall to be an elf and I am sure that even you understood my request.”

“He is special, Gloriana. If you will but look at him closely,” Julius says. I fear and crave her gaze until the moment it truly falls upon me.

Leave a Reply

