100-Word Challenge, Day 268


I want to ask questions, but I remember Julius’ warning not to speak. I listen and wait, painfully aware that my fate will be decided by the creature before me.

“I considered that, but it didn’t feel right.” Julius turns and looks at me. “There is something special about him,” he says before turning back to Gloriana. “I don’t know what it is, but when I felt his presence and saw him running I couldn’t help but feel like I needed to help him.” He looks back at me and cocks his head to the side. “It was as if he were calling out to me.”

Leave a Reply

