100-Word Challenge, Day 271


“I do not know how,” I say. Something has changed in Julius. His shabby appearance, which had seemed so out of place minutes earlier, suddenly seemed perfect, as if my eyes had been opened for the first time.

“You can,” Julius says with the eternal patience. “You simply need to remember.” He points at me, and though he is across the hall, I can feel the touch of his fingertip upon my brow. I fall to my knees as memories I didn’t know I had return to me in a rush of sensations. I freeze and burn in equal measure before it stops and the world goes dark.

Leave a Reply

