100-Word Challenge, Day 286


“What war?” I ask as the tea starts to do its work. The shadows in the room become deeper, the fire less inviting, and my surroundings less friendly; only Gloriana’s smile remains unchanged, but I can’t help but notice the way the corners of her mouth twitch like she is forcing her smile. “Wow,” I say, “this is some powerful stuff.”

“It gets the ball rolling, the rest of what you feel is all you,” Gloriana says. “It does not make the world a dark and forbidding place, the tea just helps you see the world for what it is.”

“No offense,” I say, “but I think I prefer the way the world looks before the tea.”

Leave a Reply

