100-Word Challenge, Day 294


“Do not peddle your pathetic little philosophies in my home, blessed,” Gloriana says through her clenched jaw. “Your kind is amongst the most ancient, but you are kept blind by the Father and know less of the real world than you can imagine.” She steps back, the anger and hatred radiating from her as she says, “I too have stood before Him. I have sat at his side and remember the glory of his presence when it was new and the universe was full of promise. If my death returned me to his house I would embrace the opportunity.” Her face softens and a tear rolls down her cheek. “But, I have a duty and eternal life. I can never go home.”

Leave a Reply

