100-Word Challenge, Day 297


“I…I don’t know,” I say. I am too stunned to say much else.

“And you wouldn’t,” Gloriana says. “The Host’s job was to do the biding of the Father in the spiritual realm and to prepare the way for mortal man’s ascension.” She sighs and stirs the fire with a long stick with a charred end. “He wanted you to remember something more physical so that there was something for the host to look at and feel pride in.”

“But the Host does not feel pride,” I say. “We live to serve the throne of Heaven. Our lives are his.”

Leave a Reply

