100-Word Challenge, Day 300


I feel pain deep in my chest. I would call it heartbreak if I actually had a heart. My life has been a lie. I have not been a willing participant, but an actor who has been fed his lines for millenia. “Why?” I ask.

“I wish I knew the answer,” Gloriana replies, but I am not asking her. He is the only one who can answer, and he has not been talking to me since I left.

The front door slams open and a scruffy looking elf in a grey skirt bursts through the door. “My Queen! A mortal is coming. He is a wizard!”

Leave a Reply

