100-Word Challenge, Day 305


I turn the corner and walk into a small side tunnel in time to see my guide pull back a worn blue tarp. “What’s this?” I ask.

She exhales loudly and says, “I always forget you people are blind.” She snaps her fingers and a globe of light pops into existence above her head. It dances about as if alive, even dodging my outstretched fingers when I reach for it. “This is all old human armor and weapons. The Queen insisted we keep them in case we ever became allied with humans again.” She shrugs her shoulders and continues. “I thought it was a waste, but I guess she may have been right.”

Leave a Reply

