100-Word Challenge, Day 307


 

English: A photo of the Sword of State of the ...
Image via Wikipedia

 

 

It has been centuries since I have used a sword, but a few experimental swings of that near perfect blade and the memories and reflexes came flooding back into my mind. “It is wonderful,” I say as I practice a few quick combinations.

“Thank you,” she says, “though I would say wonderful is an understatement if it weren’t so unbecoming.” She watches me for a moment or two longer. “I’m just glad you didn’t cut off your own foot already, but I suppose there will be time for that later. Now let’s see if we can find you some armor.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

