100-Word Challenge, Day 350


CHAPTER TWENTY-TWO

 

The cavern is silent. I can sense everyone in the room, but they are silent. The goblins are dead, most of them at my hand, and the elves are terrified. They invited a monster into their home and didn’t know what to do about it. I suppose their action would be more negative if I hadn’t shown myself to be on their side. I can’t blame them for fearing me.

The wizard escaped, but I suspect it was an automatic defense rather than a conscious attempt to save his own life. I can sense trace of teleportation magic emanating from where he stood just moments earlier. He broke through the barrier and set me free. The backlash would have killed a lesser man. This, Vandal, bears remembering.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

