100-Word Challenge, Day 353


“Yes,” she says, “I remember you now.”

“If I had known, I could have avoided all of this.” I keep my eyes on the fire, watching it return the bodies to the universe. “I chose to forget, and I would have been happy to remain ignorant, but my absence has left a void that could not last.”

“My people do not fear you the way the younger races do, but your presence was missed.” Gloriana steps up beside me and places her hand upon my sleeve. “This is not your fault. I could have sent you away the moment Julius brought you to me, but I sensed as he did, that there is something more to you than who, and what, you are.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

