100-Word Challenge, Day 354


 

Destiny!
Destiny! (Photo credit: ifindkarma)

“I hope you are right, Your Majesty.” I feed my will into the fire, and offer a silent prayer to the Father, asking him to offer comfort to their families.

“Make it so,” she says. “You are the master of your own destiny, but I believe you have awakened, at this time, for a reason.”

“You are mistaken, Elf Queen. My destiny is not my own. I spoke an oath to the father millennia ago, and now I must return to his service.” The pyre collapses on itself, and the fire flairs as the last remnants of the elves are consumed.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

