100-Word Challenge, Day 360


 

Survivor
Survivor (Photo credit: mayakamina)

I follow her through the tunnels, into the village, and to her doorway. It feels like a lifetime ago that I stood before her door with Julius, but it was less than two days ago, and mere hours since Accantha led me to battle. “Accantha,” I say, “is she alright? Did she survive the battle?”

“She did,” Gloriana says as she opens the door. “She was injured, but few of the survivors were not.” She walks inside and I follow. I remember her home being more spacious, but my perspective has changed since I left. Her voice cuts through my distraction. “I can summon her here, if you wish.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

