100-Word Challenge, Day 365


“Like the funeral rites of my people from ten-thousand years ago,” Gloriana says. She picks up the cup, takes a sip and returns it to the open air. She makes using the power look so easy.

“Yes, exactly. I wanted to remember what they were, I focused and the memories came back to me.” I focus my thoughts for a moment and reach back to a time before I walked amongst men. The memory I sought for surged into place, filling a gap in my mind. “It was not always like this. Back before I relinquished my position, my memories were my own and organized the way they were meant to be. This must be some sort of after effect.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

