Apocalypse Rising 042012


 I laugh and nod to her. “From your lips to His ears,” I say. I open the door, step into the light of the elf village, and rise to my full height of seven feet. “I will not forget that you helped me in my time of need. I will do what I can to return you, and your people, to glory.”

“That would be a magnificent thing,” she says, “but you will forgive me if I am a little skeptical. We are the antithesis of your mission, handed down by the Father, Himself.”

“I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I have a bit of a rebellious streak about me, and while your people do not have a place in heaven, they are still capable of dying and fall within my purview.” I smile and bow once more. “I may not be able to give you an afterlife, but I can name you as friend and exert the influence I have.” I turn to leave, but I stop, my back turned to the Elf Queen. “I think you are right.”

“About,” she asks.

“I was awakened, in this place, at this time, for a reason. Change is coming.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

