Apocalypse Rising 042712


{31} storm drain
{31} storm drain (Photo credit: KatLevPhoto)

“I hope to change that,” I say.

She turns, stares at me, and asks, “why would you do that?”

“Because your people were forgotten, and it isn’t right,” I say. “There was a time when I had forgotten you as well, but I mean to make amends. I don’t know that I’ll be able to return you to your former glory, but I will find you a place to live in peace.”

Accantha looks at me and nods before she begins climbing an endless series of ladder rungs bolted into the wall of the storm drain we are standing in. I follow her up until she step into a side tunnel near the top. “It will be a tight fit, but you should be able to fit long enough to get where we’re going,” she says.

I have to enter the tunnel on my hands and knees since it is too narrow for me to stand in. I manage to keep up with her, but I suspect she is lowering her pace so that she doesn’t lose me through the twisting maze of cold, wet, pipes.

Eventually we come to another pipe leading upward. Accantha stops, barring my path, and says, “this empties out in an alley up above. Normally I don’t go out, except at night, and then I travel in disguise.” She takes a deep breath and slowly lets it out. “Gloriana told me that you and I are supposed to be obvious, once we’re on the surface, so that we can draw attention away from the elves.”

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

