Apocalypse Rising 042912


 

LONDON, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 24:  The sun rises b...
LONDON, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 24: The sun rises behind the Canary Wharf skyscrapers on the Isle of Dogs on October 24, 2011 in London, England. The Canary Wharf financial district, which was constructed in the 1980s on the site of the derelict West India Docks, is home to the headquarters of numerous banks and financial institutions. (Image credit: Getty Images via @daylife)

She turns, and looks to the front of the alley while I replace the manhole cover. Her sorrow makes my heart hurt. For all of the time I have spent with mortal man, I had forgotten the elves, and their plight was far worse. Humanity had a chance to save itself, to rise above the tide of darkness that had been growing for so long. They fight with the strength of the dying, aware of their own mortality and the brief time they have to make a difference. The elves have given up. They remember when the Father walked the earth amongst them, and they are sure he has forgotten them. I am not sure that they are wrong

I walk to the front of the alley, and look up and down the road. We are a couple of blocks away from the front of Hitaratsu. I expected to see police cars and ambulance in front of the building, but I see nothing. “Come on, Accantha, let’s go grab some attention,” I say before stepping out of the alley, and walking in that direction.

Accantha keeps pace with me, though she is almost jogging to do so, and we eat up the distance. I notice people staring at me as I walk by, and I hear the whispers, most of them wondering if I am a basketball player, but I ignore them. I want to be noticed, and my march toward Hitaratsu is doing a fine job of it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

