100-Word Challenge, Day 048-049


Shrimp Dinner for Two
Dinner for Two (Photo credit: aliwest44)

Margaret blushed and looked away. “Yeah, he does at that,” she said. Silence hung awkwardly between them. “I guess I should go. Will I see you later?”

Evan shrugged his shoulders and said, “Yeah, I’ll be here for a while giving all of the techs their marching orders, then making sure they understand them. Why don’t you come by later and let me know what Aldric thinks?” Evan smiled and winked at her. “If you come back early enough I’ll even treat you to dinner at Rosewill’s. I heard they got in some Terran raised beef yesterday. I don’t know about you, but I could really go for some meat not grown in a vat.”

“I would like that,” Margaret said. “I don’t think it will take long. Aldric has a meeting this afternoon with some investors.” She walked to the door and looked back over her shoulder before she said, “He is planning something big, and he is not even telling me about it.” The door opened, then closed once she was through, leaving Evan alone in the lab.

“Something big, eh? Something that makes even Aldric need investors.” Evan got up from his desk and looked out of the lone window in the lab that was not on the ceiling. He stared across the barren moonscape to the white tower that was covered in green and purple lights. “What are you up to now, Aldric?”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

