100-Word Challenge, Day 083-084


“Yes, well get a list of refinements together, and an anticipated timeline, by tomorrow morning,” Aldric said. “We have lost a lot of time getting to this point. I would like to proceed with the roll out as soon as possible.” He turned and walked toward the door. “All of this equipment does not pay for itself you know.” He walked out of the lab and the door hissed shut behind him, leaving Evan and Margaret alone together for the first time in days.

“Whatever do you see in that guy?” Evan asked as he spun his chair to face her.

She shrugged her shoulders and leaned against the edge of a worktable. “I don’t know. At first it was the excitement, then the money and power, but lately I think it is because he’s familiar.” She looked at the closed door and sighed. “I don’t want to leave this place just yet, and I know if I call it off with him he will give me the boot and gladly pay for any harassment lawsuit I even tried to file. He’s a controlling bastard and as long as he is the only source in free energy, he will have enough money to bury anyone and anything that gets in his way.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

