100-Word Challenge, Day 158-159


Interview Outfit 1
Interview Outfit 1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Did you try to kill my brother?” There was no anger in his voice. He conveyed no more passion than he would have when asking the time.

“No,” Evan said. “It was a lab accident, nothing more.”

“Why was Aldric planning to blackmail you?”

Evan’s jaw dropped open. “What? He was going to…with what?” He knew that Aldric kept tabs on him, but he was sure that anything blackmail worthy was buried beyond even his reach.

Jacob steepled his fingers in front of his mouth and said, “Apparently you have a bit of a gambling problem, or at least you did until two years ago, but I don’t think your reform would have bothered him.” He put his hands back on the table. “What I don’t understand is why he would want to blackmail you.”

“I don’t know,” Evan said. “Maybe because he thought something was happening between Doctor Vo and I, but there was nothing there.”

“It’s possible,” Jacob said, “but unlikely since Aldric has ever given a damn about a woman beyond the night he beds her. I’m thinking there is something more here.”

“Look, Mister Dewitt, I don’t know why he would want to blackmail me,” Evan said. “I have been busting my ass for him since I started working at Darkside. If it wasn’t for me his latest project would still be stuck at the

conceptual phase. We were on the verge of changing everything.”

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

