100-Word Challenge, Day 243-245


“So I can see.”

There was a pause, but Evan thought he heard muffled conversation, as if someone had placed a hand over the microphone. He strained to make out what was being said, but it was barely discernible as being speech at all. “Why do you even want me here?” he asked. “What could I have possibly done to you people, whoever you are?”

“We are still trying to decide, Doctor Murray,” the voice said. “There are some here who think you are too dangerous to keep around and that we should eject you out of the airlock as soon as possible, so please stop with the escape attempts or I may be forced to listen to them.”

“No more escape attempts,” Evan said. “I promise.” Evan closed his eyes and took in a deep breath. The pain was still there, but it no longer made him wince. “I don’t suppose you can tell me how much longer I’m going to be stuck in here?”

“No.” The speaker paused for a moment. “Are you in a hurry to get somewhere?”

“Nowhere specific, but I would like to get back to my research.” Evan smiled to himself. “I don’t suppose you have a lab I could borrow do you?”

“That depends on what we decide to do with you, Doctor Murray.” It was a tantalizing bit of information, but Evan was sure it was meant to get him to cooperate. “Go to sleep, Doctor,” the voice said. “I have a busy day ahead of me and you never know when we may come for you.”

The intercom click with finality and Evan followed the directions of his jailers, but sleep came slowly. A half-conscious dream that he could not shake plagued his thoughts. Somewhere in the distant corners of his semi-lucid mind there was a scream, but Evan could not make out the face of the screamer no matter how hard he tried.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

