100-Word Challenge, Day 264


Silver Bells
Silver Bells (Photo credit: smilla4)

Margaret’s laughter was like the sound of two perfect, silver bells ringing in near unison, but the disparity in the timing created a disharmony that made Christopher’s teeth hurt in his mouth. “Dinner sounds lovely, Christopher, but I think you misunderstand why I called you here,” she said before pushing away from the desk. She stood and walked around it, letting her fingers drag across the incredibly expensive, real wood surface. “I did not invite you here to ask for a job.” She sat on the edge of the desk facing him. “I asked you here to tell you that I am taking your company, and that I would prefer you worked with me willingly.”

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

