Apocalypse Undone Sneak Peak


After feeling a little inspired today, I decided it was time to share a little snippet from Apocalypse Undone, the upcoming sequel to my first book, Apocalypse Rising. Hopefully it wets your appetites a little, because the end is coming soon.

Apocalypse Undone

The city stretched out below Kohaku and he watched the cars wind their way through the brightly lit streets. When he focused his attention he could even make out the people on the sidewalks as they went to the restaurants and bars that occupied the bottom floors of so many of the buildings. “It really is beautiful from up here,” he said. He looked up at Hitaratsu Tower, and the window on the corner where his office had been. “I never really paid much attention when I had spent every day above it all. This whole city was my playground, or so I thought.”

“A fall from grace can change your perspective,” Justin said. “My time away from the Throne has made me see things in a way that I never could have imagined.”

Kohaku turned to face his brother. “You did not exactly fall,” he said. “It was more like a leap.”

“Perhaps, but it was no less jarring.” Justin stepped up to the ledge beside his brother and looked down. “I wish we could warn them,” he said, “but there is no time.”

“I doubt they would listen anyway,” Kohaku said. “Their world is going to go through the most profound change since the days of Moses. They are not ready for it.”

“They will do fine. There will be chaos and panics at first, but they will settle into the new reality soon enough and will be ready for the end when we bring it to them.”

“You have more faith in them than I do,” Kohaku said.

“It surprises me,” Justin said. “I lived amongst them, but you were one of them until a few days ago.”

“I think that is exactly why I have so little confidence.” Kohaku turned toward the edge of the building. “Being human made me a monster amongst them.”

“You did not know any better,” Justin said.

“Yes I did,” Kohaku said. “I didn’t know the Truth, but I knew what I was doing, and who I had become, was wrong, but I did not let it stop me for even a moment.” He closed his eyes for a moment and took a deep breath. “It’s funny you know. This is my chance for redemption, but I must embrace the monster within me if we are going to make it through this thing.”

“Don’t give in to that temptation, brother,” Justin said. “We must be forceful and determined, but we must not fall into the trap of taking the easy path.”

“Nothing about this will be easy.”

“You know what I mean.” Justin held his hand out to his brother and Kohaku took it in his. “Are they ready?”

Thirty stories below them, deep within the basement of Hitaratsu Tower, a horde of zombies shuffled toward the stairs that led upward. Kohaku could sense them and telepathically ordered them onward. “The first wave of the assault will begin in five minutes unless they are spotted first.”

“They won’t be.” Justin smiled. “Lilly told me the elves were in place an hour ago. If they haven’t disabled the surveillance by now then we are in far more trouble than I want to think about.” He looked up at the moon and sighed. “I suppose we should get going. The moon will reach its zenith soon, and we don’t want to be late for that.”

“So let’s fly.” Kohaku leapt from the roof of the building and soared upward on wings that were never intended to part the air. Justin followed and soon they were circling high above the tower. “Any second now,” Kohaku said. “They are close. Just listen.”

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

