Its Camping Time


image

The sun has gone down and I am sitting around the campfire with a bunch of other parents, praying that the temperature does not get as low as we expect it to.  I love camping out and I miss the backpacking I used to do. There is something awesome about being out in the wilderness, far away from civilization.  While I’m glad I can post this message tonight I would really prefer that I was far enough away from cell towers to not have access to the internet right now.

Both of my boys are in cub scouts this year and we just got started with this camp out since soccer has dominated our lives for the last couple of months. I’m not playing the part of leader this year, though they have asked me to. To be honest i’m not a big fan of cub scouts. It is great for the kids, but I can’t wait until they get into boy scouts.

I loved boy scouts. The hiking, the knot tying and the camping were the most important things in my life from sixth grade until I was well into high school. I can look back at my time in the scouts and honestly say they were some of the best times of my life.

I hope that my boys find as much joy in it as I did and I plan on being there for as much of it as I can.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a comment